JUST RIGHT

Because I am a short man (coming in a 5’ 1”), I have a small foot at 8.5” from heel to tip of big toe.  Because of this, I always had a hard time knitting top-down socks that fit my feet correctly.  I know that you can knit toe-up socks and measure on your foot as you go, but I’m the type of person that likes to see something written in concrete form when I’m knitting it.

One day I was perusing sock patterns on Ravelry and came across David’s Toe-Up Sock Cookbook pattern.  I finally found a sock pattern that worked for me.  All you need is two measurements, the length of your foot and the circumference of your foot.  From those two things, you do a few easy calculations et voila, you have a personalized sock pattern that fits your foot.

With a stash of sock yarn sitting around over the past several years, I set out to start knitting myself some socks.  Most of these will be plain stockinette with a couple of patterned ones thrown in for good measure.  Over the next few days/weeks, I’ll show what I’ve done so far.  They will not be in any type of date order as to when they were knit.

Image

A dear friend of mine gave me this sock yarn a couple of years ago.  I think it’s Regia.

Image

I initially used this yarn (Regia?) to knit a scarf pattern called Wingspan.  It sat around for many months waiting to be blocked.  After I finally blocked it, I put it away because I knew I wouldn’t wear it and didn’t know of anyone that would want/wear it.  I took it back out of my bin and decided to rip it out and to use the yarn for socks.

In non-knitting news, there’s not too much going on.  I’m looking forward to fall/winter because as I’ve said before, the older I get, the less I can deal with hot and humid Southern summers.  I’m still a member of the Palmetto Purlers knitting guild.  If you’re a knitter or someone that wants to learn to knit, please join us.  Information can be found at the above link.  Until next time, be well.

About colamanknits

Just your average, gay-male knitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

