BIRTHDAY WEEKEND

Hello, everyone.  This past Monday was my birthday.  I turned a glorious 47.  I don’t really feel that age except everyone now and again, I have the typical aches and pains, but they don’t last long.

To start my 47th year off, I went for a two hour walk down at the Cayce-West Columbia river walk and had a wonderful time.  I took the day off to run errands and enjoy my birthday.  I’ve finally decided to get some of this weight off of me.  I lost a good bit right before I went to Paris in 2006, but did not keep it off.  Hopefully, this time will be different.  I read a quote that said, “Eat to Live, not live to eat” and that made a lot of sense to me.  To try and stay in the habit of walking, I’ve gone down to the park two other times since Monday.

Last Saturday, as part of my birthday, a friend gave me and her sister (who’s birthday was on the 8th) a birthday party.  It wasn’t a rowdy one due to having it at a rehabilitation center where their dad is  at to gain his strength back after being in the hospital for a few weeks.  Below is a couple of pictures.

101_0157

The one giving the party is at the top of the photo next to the guy.  Her sister Sarah (the other birthday person) is in the lower bottom in the black shirt.

101_0159

Alec (the guy in the black tee shirt) was down from Washington, DC visiting Sarah.  Sarah works with Doctors Without Borders in The Netherlands and came home for a few months when their dad got sick.  She was actually on assignment in Papua, New Guinea when she got the news that their dad was pretty bad off and needed to come home.  She Flew from New Guinea to Singapore and then from Singapore to Amsterdam.  After arriving in Amsterdam, she turned around and caught a flight from there back to the States.  The guy in the blue shirt is my roommate (platonic).

 

After leaving the facility, some of us went to the Capital Club and had a good time and then went back to Alyson’s house and continued the merriment. 

 

On Sunday, I went up to my parent’s house in Winnsboro.  The picture below is my dad and the beautiful yarn swift he made for my birthday.  He is such a talented carpenter.

101_0162

One of my favorite dinners is spaghetti.  My mom made that for my birthday and it was sooooooooooo delicious!!  Below is a picture of my mom (isn’t she cute) before we (I) dug in!

 

101_0171

 

After leaving my parents house and heading back to Columbia, I stopped by Alyson’s house where Sarah had made me one of favorite desserts, Tiramisu.

 

101_0213

Below, Alyson and I got tickled about something Sarah said when she was taking the photograph.  Good lord, I’m bald on the top of my head!

 

101_0211

This is Alyson and Sarah.  They’re such great friends to have.  Alyson and I have been friends since 1994.

101_0210

I also received a couple of cards in the mail.  One was from an old friend of mine that now lives in Las Vegas.  He included a $25.00 gift card from Barnes and Noble.  I’m going to use it to go toward the second season of Dexter when it comes out on DVD this Tuesday.  I can’t wait.  Thanks, Robb.

Well possums, that’s all for this post.  I’ll try to have knitting content again at some point.  I know, I know, some of you are probably saying, but isn’t this a knitting blog?  All I can is, don’t hate, appreciate!  🙂

 

Until then… 

About colamanknits

Just your average, gay-male knitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BIRTHDAY WEEKEND

  1. Beverly says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!!! The swift is gorgeous. What would did your dad use?

  2. Beverly says:

    Duh, I’m sure you know I mean wood!

Leave a Reply

