HO-HUM

It’s the start of another week.  I’m off work today, but will have to spend some time at my doctor’s office.  Last Tuesday, I stopped at a bar in West Columbia after work to have a few drinks with some friends and to catch up.  The bartender and two other people were smoking which didn’t seem to bother me at the time.  Later that night, after going to bed, I started to feel stopped up.  Needless to say, it’s been downhill from there.  My right ear stopped up and started hurting and still hasn’t opened back up.  I finally broke down and made an appointment today to have it seen about.  I believe I may be allergic to cigarette smoke now.  That’s funny, because I used to smoke .

Let’s see, what else.  Not much happened on the 4th for me due to not feeling well.  A friend and I did go out to a flea market so that I could get out-of-doors to get some fresh air.  My roommate rented two movies from Blockbuster over the weekend:  10,000 B.C. and The Kite Runner.  The first was okay, but the second is a must see.  It is such a great movie.  I’m a member of Netflix and am really enjoying this service.  One of the movies that I’ve rented so far is this one:

51QGZ69H3QL._SS500_[1]

This isn’t a long movie, but it does pack a punch.  It’s about two gay characters who fall in love with each other while serving in the Israeli Army.  I found the movie to be engrossing.  I would recommend it.  Here’s another picture of the two stars.  Quite handsome, I should say.

Y_J_2[1]

I’ve been in a knitting funk as of the last couple or so weeks.  I haven’t touched my lastest socks, but I am close to finishing them.  I don’t know if I want to start another pair after this one or start something different.  If I do start another pair of socks, I’m going to use some beautiful sock yarn given to me by my friend Fiberitis.

On a serious note, I’ve been a funk lately and normally along with that brings unhappiness with my life.  I’m sure that a lot of people feel that they’re in a rut and need to make changes in their life; I’m no exception.  I’m at the point in my life where I’m not happy with anything.  I know it’s up to me to make these changes and that only I can do it.  I often feel that I need to move out-of-state to start over.  I’m talking about a move to somewhere like Boston, Houston, Atlanta or California.  I do have friends in Houston, Atlanta, Laguna Beach, CA and San Francisco.  I don’t think that I could afford San Francisco, though.  If I had a friend in London, I would consider moving there.  To be honest with you, I haven’t been happy in Columbia for a while.  I no longer have what I would consider close, gay friends here anymore due to them having relationships, life in general, etc.  This troubles me because the older I get, it becomes harder for me to make new friends.  To any of my straight friends who may read this, please do not take this personally, because I cherish and love each of you dearly.  It’s just that, I miss having that close friendship with another gay person who you can TOTALLY be yourself with and that person understands things from a gay perspective.  If I don’t make a drastic move out-of-state, I really need to try and bite the bullet and finally start looking for an apartment here in town.  I love my roommate dearly and will always be thankful for his kindness in letting me stay(rent) at his house, but it’s time to go.  I know that he probably wants to have his house and privacy back to himself because I really feel the need for my alone time and privacy as well.  I did get a couple of free publications that list apartments.  I guess I’m at the point of doing this more than I realize.

Well, enough of this.  I hope to have knitting content next time.  Until then, be well.     

About colamanknits

Just your average, gay-male knitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HO-HUM

  1. Dave says:

    I’ve been in a funk lately too, but I’m not in a position to move to a different state. It is definitely more difficult to meet people as you get older, and I think that’s part of the problem. Well, I know it is. 🙂

    Anyway, good luck with the ear, and thanks for the movie recommendation.

    Thanks, Dave. The doctor said that I have a slight ear infection due to some water that got trapped in there. He gave me a prescription for some drops to put in my ear. I hope that you come out of your funk soon. It’s not a fun place to be. I’m really not in a position to move either and I so do not want to touch my savings with the way things are at the moment.

    Have you been to Montreal? Do you like it there? That’s another place I would move to in a minute. I think Quebec City or Toronto would be lovely places to live as well. I have to plead ignorance at the moment and admit that I don’t know that much about Ottawa. Take care of yourself.

  2. Thanks for the Movie Tips, Netflix ah! One of the things I enjoy here in California is that non smoking everywhere, bars, restaurants and the like.

    Get your ruby needles together and you will be home.

    Restaurants are here as well. I don’t think bars yet, though.

    Ruby needles. Ha-ha. You’re too funny. You made me laugh. 🙂

    I hope that you’re doing well.

  3. Beverly says:

    It’s just as hard for straight people too. I hope you find your way and things work out for you. That’s one of the downfalls of getting older but I’m so glad I met you.

    Thanks, Beverly. I’m glad to have you as a friend also.

Leave a Reply

